National Aeronautics and Space Administration Logo
Follow this link to skip to the main content NASA Banner
Solar System Exploration
News & Events
Mars Rover Landing 2012 - Curiosity Landing Information

"Curiosity, the most sophisticated rover ever built, is now on the surface of the Red Planet, where it will seek to answer age-old questions about whether life ever existed on Mars -- or if the planet can sustain life in the future." -- NASA Administrator Charles Bolden.

Curiosity Team Upgrades Software, Checks Wheel Wear

NASA's Mars rover Curiosity captured this 360-degree view using its Navigation Camera (Navcam) after a 17-foot (5.3 meter) drive on 477th Martian day, or sol, of the rover's work on Mars (Dec. 8, 2013).
NASA's Mars rover Curiosity captured this 360-degree view using its Navigation Camera (Navcam) after a 17-foot (5.3 meter) drive on 477th Martian day, or sol, of the rover's work on Mars (Dec. 8, 2013). Image Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech

20 Dec. 2013: The team operating NASA's Mars rover Curiosity has completed a software upgrade on the vehicle and is next planning a check of wear and tear on the rover's wheels.

"Curiosity is now operating on version 11 of its flight software," said Jim Erickson of NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, project manager for the NASA Mars Science Laboratory Project, which operates Curiosity.

This is the third upgrade version since Curiosity's landing on Mars16 months ago. Completing the switch from version 10 took about a week. An earlier switch to version 11 prompted an unintended reboot on Nov. 7 and a return to version 10, but the latest transition went smoothly.

These upgrades allow continued advances in the rover's capabilities. For example, version 11 brings expanded capability for using the Curiosity's robotic arm while the vehicle is on slopes. It also improves flexibility for storing information overnight to use in resuming autonomous driving on a second day.

Continue reading the article here.



 
Materials
Fact Sheet (Revised: 19 Nov. 2014) (PDF, 1.44 MB)
Landing Press Kit (PDF, 4.95 MB)
Planetary Protection for MSL Fact Sheet (PDF, 294 KB)
Launch Press Kit (PDF, 5.21 MB)
Brochure (PDF, 6.83 MB)
Folder (PDF, 4.41 MB)
Info Card (PDF, 583 KB)
Mars Science Laboratory 2013 Lithograph Set (PDF, 2.14 MB)
Sky Guide No. 1: What's Up With Mars? (PDF, 807 KB)
Sky Guide No. 2: What's Up with Mars? (PDF, 0.98 MB)
Curiosity Landing Activities (PDF, 588 KB)
MSL Observing Certificate (PDF, 465 KB)
MSL Curiosity Sticker (PDF, 499 KB)

Mars Science Laboratory Landing Toolkit

Official Websites

Continued Rover Coverage

Find Landing Events

Join the Conversation

Rover Videos

 
Key Dates:
Launch: 26 November 2011
Landing:
10:32 pm Pacific, 5 August 2012
11:32 pm Mountain, 5 August 2012
12:32 am Central, 6 August 2012
01:32 am Eastern, 6 August 2012
05:32 am UTC, 6 August 2012

Multimedia

For Educators

For Students

Images

NASA Solar System Exploration

Awards and Recognition   Solar System Exploration Roadmap   Contact Us   Site Map   Print This Page
NASA Official: Kristen Erickson
Advisory: Dr. James Green, Director of Planetary Science
Outreach Manager: Alice Wessen
Curator/Editor: Phil Davis
Science Writer: Autumn Burdick
Producer: Greg Baerg
Webmaster: David Martin
> NASA Science Mission Directorate
> Budgets, Strategic Plans and Accountability Reports
> Equal Employment Opportunity Data
   Posted Pursuant to the No Fear Act
> Information-Dissemination Policies and Inventories
> Freedom of Information Act
> Privacy Policy & Important Notices
> Inspector General Hotline
> Office of the Inspector General
> NASA Communications Policy
> USA.gov
> ExpectMore.gov
> NASA Advisory Council
> Open Government at NASA
Last Updated: 19 Nov 2014