National Aeronautics and Space Administration Logo
Follow this link to skip to the main content NASA Banner
Solar System Exploration
Apollo 11 Celebration
Apollo 11 Celebration (click to enlarge)

Apollo 11 Celebration
Date: 24 Jul 1969

This overall view of the Mission Operations Control Room in the Mission Control Center at the NASA Manned Spacecraft Center (MSC) in Houston, Texas shows the jubilation of the celebration of mission success. Mission controllers wave their American flags just after Apollo 11 had been recovered from the Pacific Ocean.

The Apollo 11 mission, the first manned lunar mission, launched from the Kennedy Space Center, Florida via the Marshall Space Flight Center (MSFC) developed Saturn V launch vehicle on 16 July 1969 and safely returned to Earth on 24 July 1969.

Aboard he space craft were astronauts Neil A. Armstrong, commander; Michael Collins, command module pilot; and Edwin E. Aldrin Jr., lunar module pilot. The command module remained in a parking orbit around the moon while the lunar module, named "Eagle," carrying astronauts Neil Armstrong and Edwin Aldrin, landed on the moon. During 2 1/2 hours of surface exploration, the crew collected 47 pounds of lunar surface material for analysis back on Earth. Splashdown occurred in the Pacific Ocean on 24 July 1969.

Credit: NASA

Awards and Recognition   Solar System Exploration Roadmap   Contact Us   Site Map   Print This Page
NASA Official: Kristen Erickson
Advisory: Dr. James Green, Director of Planetary Science
Outreach Manager: Alice Wessen
Curator/Editor: Phil Davis
Science Writers: Courtney O'Connor and Bill Dunford
Producer: Greg Baerg
Webmaster: David Martin
> NASA Science Mission Directorate
> Budgets, Strategic Plans and Accountability Reports
> Equal Employment Opportunity Data
   Posted Pursuant to the No Fear Act
> Information-Dissemination Policies and Inventories
> Freedom of Information Act
> Privacy Policy & Important Notices
> Inspector General Hotline
> Office of the Inspector General
> NASA Communications Policy
> NASA Advisory Council
> Open Government at NASA
Last Updated: 23 May 2013