National Aeronautics and Space Administration Logo
Follow this link to skip to the main content NASA Banner
Solar System Exploration
Group photo of people standing in front of a space capsule.

The 8th International Planetary Probe Workshop (IPPW-8). IPPW-8 was held in Portsmouth, VA 6-10 June 2011. The goal of the workshop is to bring together scientists, technologists, engineers, mission designers and policy makers interested in the exploration of Solar System atmospheres and surfaces using atmospheric entry and descent probes, aerial vehicles, surface landers, rovers and penetrators. The workshop covers the technological challenges and scientific opportunities associated with entry, descent, landing and flight in planetary atmospheres, and surface science and mobility.The theme of the conference was technology development.

IPPW 8 2011 Portsmouth, VA
Additional Resources
Event Poster (PDF, 10.96 MB)
Event Program (PDF, 2.72 MB)
Short Course: Atmospheric Flight Systems Technologies


Session 1: Opening, Outlook for Probe Missions

Conveners: Bernie Bienstock, Neil Cheatwood, Michael Amato

Session 2: Probe Missions

Conveners: Christine Szalai, Andrew Ball

Session 3: Science from Probes and Penetrators

Conveners: Tom Spilker, Tim van Zoest

Session 4: EDL Technology Development

Conveners: Anuscheh Nawaz, Augusto Caramagno

Session 5: Science Instrumentation

Conveners Pat Beauchamp, Athena Coustenis, Jean-Pierre Lebreton

Session 6A: New Technologies

Conveners: Jeremy Shidner, Stefano Portigliotti

Session 6B: Aeroassist, Experimental Missions and EDL Mission Design

Conveners: Artem Dyakonov, Olivier Bayle

Session 7A: Advances in TPS Technology for Planetary Probe Design

Conveners: Ioana Cozmuta, Jean-Marc Bouilly

Session 7B: Airless Body Surface Missions

Conveners: Behzad Raiszadeh, Alain Pradier

Session 8: Closing

Conveners: Session Conveners: Michelle Munk and Bernie Bienstock

Awards and Recognition   Solar System Exploration Roadmap   Contact Us   Site Map   Print This Page
NASA Official: Kristen Erickson
Advisory: Dr. James Green, Director of Planetary Science
Outreach Manager: Alice Wessen
Curator/Editor: Phil Davis
Science Writers: Courtney O'Connor and Bill Dunford
Producer: Greg Baerg
Webmaster: David Martin
> NASA Science Mission Directorate
> Budgets, Strategic Plans and Accountability Reports
> Equal Employment Opportunity Data
   Posted Pursuant to the No Fear Act
> Information-Dissemination Policies and Inventories
> Freedom of Information Act
> Privacy Policy & Important Notices
> Inspector General Hotline
> Office of the Inspector General
> NASA Communications Policy
> NASA Advisory Council
> Open Government at NASA
Last Updated: 7 Apr 2014