National Aeronautics and Space Administration Logo
Follow this link to skip to the main content NASA Banner
Solar System Exploration
Group photo of people standing in front of a building

The 7th International Planetary Probe Workshop (IPPW-7). IPPW-7 was held in Barcelona, Spain 14-18 June 2010.

IPPW 7 2010 Barcelona, Spain
Additional Resources
Event Posters:
A4 (PDF, 217 KB)
Letter (PDF, 205 KB)
Full (PDF, 87.55 MB)
Event Program (PDF, 13.92 MB)
Arrival Guide (PDF, 6.69 MB)


Session 1: Outlook for Probe Missions

Conveners: B. Bienstock, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (USA); E. Venkatapathy, NASA Ames Research Center (USA) and M. Amato, NASA Goddard Spaceflight Center (USA)

Session 2: Probe Missions: Concepts and Ongoing Studies of In-situ Exploration Missions

Conveners: W. Lee, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (USA); A.-M. Schipper, Thales Alenia Space (Italy) and J. Hall, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (USA)

Session 3: Terminal Descent Issues, Target Landing Site Selection, and Trajectory Reconstruction

Conveners: A. Coustenis, Observatoire de Paris (France); T. Spilker, NASA JPL (USA) and G. Chen, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (USA)

Session 4: Science from Entry and Descent Probes and Penetrators

Conveners: R. Lorenz, John Hopkins University APL (USA); R. Beebe, PDS/NMSU University (USA) and J.-P. Lebreton, ESA ESTEC (Netherlands)

Session 5: EDL Technology Developments; Guidance, Navigation and Control

Conveners C. Westhelle, NASA Johnson Space Center (USA); E. Hines, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (USA); J.-M. Bouilly, EADS Astrium (France) and P. Brugarolas, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (USA)

Session 6A: Planetary Entry Sensors, Payloads, Penetrators, and Systems

Conveners: J. Santos, NASA Ames Research Center (USA); F. Ferri, University of Padova (Italy); R. Trautner, ESA ESTEC (Netherlands) and G. Colombatti, University of Padova (Italy)

Session 6B: Drag, Aerobraking and Aerocapture Techniques

Conveners: M. Munk, NASA Langley Research Center (USA); J.-M Muylaert, ESA ESTEC and VKI Institute (Netherlands) and N. Cheatwood, NASA Langley Research Center (USA)

Session 7A: New Technologies

Conveners: R. French, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (USA); E. Chassefiere, CNRS Jussieu (France); K. Trumble, NASA Ames Research Center (USA) and E. Laan, Dutch Space (Netherlands)

Session 7B: Airless Body Surface Missions

Conveners: A. Smith, University College London (UK); B. Cohen, NASA Marshall Spaceflight Center (USA) and S. Tanaka, JAXA (Japan)

Session 8: Closing Session

Conveners: E. Chester, Aerospace Technology Centre (Spain) and J. Cutts, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (USA)

Poster Session

Conveners: R. Haya Ramos, Deimos Space (Spain); D. Atkinson, University of Idaho (USA) and A. Jaime, Technical University of Catalonia (Spain)

Copyright Notice (Plain Text, 3 KB)

Awards and Recognition   Solar System Exploration Roadmap   Contact Us   Site Map   Print This Page
NASA Official: Kristen Erickson
Advisory: Dr. James Green, Director of Planetary Science
Outreach Manager: Alice Wessen
Curator/Editor: Phil Davis
Science Writer: Autumn Burdick
Producer: Greg Baerg
Webmaster: David Martin
> NASA Science Mission Directorate
> Budgets, Strategic Plans and Accountability Reports
> Equal Employment Opportunity Data
   Posted Pursuant to the No Fear Act
> Information-Dissemination Policies and Inventories
> Freedom of Information Act
> Privacy Policy & Important Notices
> Inspector General Hotline
> Office of the Inspector General
> NASA Communications Policy
> NASA Advisory Council
> Open Government at NASA
Last Updated: 7 Apr 2014